Gluten-Free Mushroom and Garlic Pasta

When giving up gluten, there are a few food items that one may have a hard time severing ties with. Fortunately, items like pizza, pasta and brownies can still remain in your diet. Gluten-free food and recipe substitutions have come a very long way in recent years, and pasta is no exception.

DSC_0594

I try to get to Trader Joe’s in the United States on, at least, a monthly basis to stock up on the good stuff. Trader Joe’s carries a very wide range of gluten-free food and at very reasonable prices. One of my favourites is their corn penne and corn spaghetti.

The penne came in especially handy last weekend when I hosted two very wonderful girls for dinner. One of them was vegetarian, the other had a little lactose issue. My only option to please all palates was to create a vegan dish.

DSC_0603

At my favourite recipe go-to spot, Pinterest, I found what I needed to create a mushroom and garlic pasta dish. While cooking up my Trader Joe’s corn penne (which is softer and more flavourful than wheat pasta anyway), I sliced and diced mushrooms, parsley and a lot of garlic. I firmly believe you can never have too much garlic! (And don’t even get me started on its anti-oxidant qualities.)

DSC_0597

Tossed in a pan with some chili flakes, white wine and a handful of other taste-boosters, this vegan dish would easily please almost anyone in your family. The mushrooms are hearty and flavourful and it’s a soothing dish for the cold winter days ahead.

DSC_0608

I adapted the recipe from LaaLoosh but the recipe below has been doubled to serve four. The original recipe simply didn’t yield enough for each person at my dinner table.

You’ll Need:

  • 3 cups brown or Portobello mushrooms, roughly chopped
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • crushed red pepper flakes to taste
  • 1/2 cup white wine (I used Chardonnay)
  • 1 package Trader Joe’s corn penne (or similar)
  • 6 tbsp parsley, finely chopped
  • Kosher salt and fresh pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Heat oil in a cast iron pan over medium heat. Sauté the garlic and red pepper flakes until soft but be careful not to burn the garlic.

2. Boil the penne pasta as directed – it should take close to 10 minutes to cook the entire bag.

3. Meanwhile, add the mushrooms to the cast iron pan with the garlic and season with salt and pepper and sauté for 2 or 3 more minutes. Add the white wine and cook for 3 more minutes.

Smother the corn penne on the plates with the mushroom sauce and sprinkle with parley. Crack some more salt and pepper over top if desired. To add a creamy element, sprinkle some mozzarella cheese over top (or Daiya if you’re vegan).

XO

3 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Mushroom and Garlic Pasta

  1. Hmm I’m actually not a fan of brown rice pasta at all – I find it to be very grainy and flavourless. I’m quite sure you can find corn pasta at Superstore in the Natural Foods section. I’ve definitely seen it there before! Corn pasta is soft and tastes really great!

  2. the only thing that worries me about corn anything, especially from the states – even if it is trader joes, which I know is better – is the fact that the majority of the corn the US food producers use is from Monstano stock & that’s genetically modified… that’s scary.

Leave a Reply

